County Commission

Mission Statement

It is the mission of Seward County Government to provide a standard of excellence in services to meet the needs of Seward County citizens and to enhance their quality of life.

Our Vision: 

Creating positive partnerships between government, business, community organizations, and our residents who share a dedication to making life better for our citizens today and future generations. 

Core Values:

  • Integrity/Honesty/Trustworthiness
  • Respect for All
  • Stewardship/Fiscally Responsible
  • Commitment
  • Operate with Transparency
  • Accountability
  • Quality/Excellence
  • Servant Leadership
  • Creativity/Innovation
  • Progressive & Forward Thinking
  • Credibility
  • Positive Attitude/ Supportive/ Encouraging/Empowerment
  • Opportunities


The Board of County Commissioner meet on the first and third Monday of each month at 5:30 pm a the Commissioner Chambers, located at the Seward County Administration Building, 515 N Washington, Liberal, KS 67901. 

All Constituents wanting to place an item of discussion on the Board's agenda should contact the County Administration office no later than the Thursday at noon prior to the Board's regularly scheduled meeting. All documents related to the agenda should also be received at that time. Contact Melinda Baker at the County Administration Office at (620) 626-3212 or by email.

Current Meeting Videos, Agendas & Minutes

Archived Agendas & Minutes


  • C.J. Wettstein, District 1 Commissioner
    Ward 3, Fargo 2 & 4, Kismet City, Liberal 4, Seward Township 3
  • Ada J Linenbroker, District 2 Commissioner
    Ward 1 Prec 2, Fargo 1 & 3, Liberal Township 5
  • Randy Malin, District 3 Commissioner
    Ward 1 Prec 1, Ward 1 Prec 3, Liberal Township 1
  • Nathan McCaffrey, District 4 Commissioner
    Ward 2, Ward 4, Ward 5, Liberal Township 2, Seward Township 1
  • Jim Rice, District 5 Commissioner
    Ward 6 Prec 1, Ward 6 Prec 2, Liberal Township 3, Seward Township 2
Precinct Map